Catalog RADLP3
Format LP
Discs 3
Category ROCK/POPS
Street Date 2019-05-10
On 10 May 2019 Creature Music is releasing the third volume in the series of Manfred Mann BBC recordings. Titled “Radio Days & Rarities,” this three-LP/ two-CD release highlights the radio appearances of Manfred Mann Chapter Three and numerous film soundtrack recordings, commercial jingles and various studio rarities. Nearly all of these tracks are making their digital debuts with this collection. The pop group Manfred Mann broke up as the single “Ragamuffin Man” was near the top of the UK charts. Manfred Mann and Mike Hugg were quietly assembling Manfred Mann Chapter Three – a free-form group aimed at the growing album market. In addition to Mann and Hugg, the core of Chapter Three included sax/flute player Bernie Living, bassist Steve York, and drummer Craig Collinge. As usual, BBC legend Brian Matthew guided fans through this period by interviewing Mann and Hugg and presenting fresh versions of three tracks (“Sometimes,” “Time” and “One Way Glass”) from the band’s self-titled album. “One Way Glass” sample was later to form the basis of the track “Stand Up” by The Prodigy and Manfred Mann and “Shut Up” by The Prodigy, Public Enemy and Manfred Mann. An early Chapter Three prototype was used by Mann and Hugg for a jazz instrumental in “The Gorge,” originally aired in 1968 as part of the BBC1 series “The Wednesday Play.” Also featured on this release are unique items from Australian and Swedish radio as well asearly versions of “Konekuf” and “Time” from the band’s debut album, and three tracks from the unissued third album: “Train Crash,” “So Sorry Please,” and “Chips.” Mann-Hugg film work debuting here include the entire “Venus In Furs” soundtrack and “Broken-Glass Lives,” a new version of “One Way Glass” which was part of the soundtrack for the film “Christa” (aka “Swedish Fly Girls”).
LP 1: Side A
1. Manfred Mann Interview
2. Manfred Mann & Mike Hugg Interview
3. Sometimes
4. Time
5. One Way Glass
6. Bluesy Susie
LP 1: Side B
1. Jump Before You Think
2. Breakdown
3. Konekuf (Mono Demo)
4. Time (Mono Demo)

LP 2: Side A
1. Happy Being Me (Mono Single Master)
2. Devil Woman (Stereo Single Master)
3. Train Crash
4. So Sorry Please
5. Chips
6. Broken-Glass Lives
LP 2: Side B
1. The Michelin Theme (Go Radial Go Michelin)
2. The Maxwell House Shake
3. Ski Full Of Fitness Theme
4. Sweet Baby Jane
5. The Gorge

LP 3: Side A
1. Venus In Furs - Main Titles
2. Buried Treasure
3. Something In The Water
4. Party Flashback
5. Deadly Liaison
6. Lets Get Together (lead vocal: Barbara McNair)
7. Phantom From The Past
8. Erotic Interlude
9. Alone With Rita
10. Excited To Death
11. Musical Infidelity
12. At The Party (Jump Before You Think)
13. Fondling Venus
LP 3: Side B
1. Dreams Of Wanda
2. Sexy Photo Shoot
3. Bathtub Suicide
4. Wanda Vs. Rita
5. Returning To Istanbul
6. The Sultan And The Slave Girl
7. Strung Up To Die
8. The Truth About Wanda
9. Tombstone Revelation
10. A Horrific Discovery
11. Venus In Furs - End Credits (lead vocal: Barbara McNair)