Catalog MOFUNK024LP
Format LP
Discs 1
Street Date 2019-06-14
After making serious noise in the modern funk world XL Middleton makes a return to the g-funk/hip hop sound that marked his earlier work with 2 Minutes Till Midnight. It’s a funked out synth-heavy excursion with an equal amount of appeal for modern funksters or the underground legions of g-funk fans that put XL on the map originally. Those familiar with his most recent albums “Tap Water” and “Things Are Happening” will recognize the signature synth leads and intricate analog bass lines. Those unfamiliar with Middleton as an MC will find that he challenges standards in the worlds of both underground and mainstream rap eschewing the backpack as much as the Bentley falling into a space that few can. XL’s lyricism is cerebral and well-read yet it’s clear that he comes from a part of the world that relishes khakis Chuck Taylors & Zapp records. 2 Minutes Till Midnight stands firmly rooted in the funk tradition of Los Angeles showing reverence for the music that inspired it by bringing g-funk legends Kokane & Domino (Getto Jam) into the fold as guest artists and by featuring album artwork from Joe Cool who designed the iconic Doggystyle album cover for Snoop Dogg. XL’s contemporaries such as labelmates Zackey Force Funk Moniquea & I Ced also join in and help to remind us that the album is not just a self-indulgent tribute to a bygone era of music. As modern funk grew largely out of hip hop XL takes that growth backward and moves the music forward as a result.
1. PTL (feat. Zackey Force Funk)
2. Where We About To Take It (Salvation)
3. I Dont Wanna Wait
4. What She Sounds Like (feat. I Ced)
5. Love When It Comes Down To It (feat. Z-Man & Moniquea)
6. Gentched Up
7. I Cant Get Away (feat. Domino)
8. Think U Slick (feat. Kokane & Rev)
9. Trippin
10.Wintertime In Cali
11.Tingle Down Below
12.Cool Minute