10 ½
Catalog PTG34108
Format CD
Discs 1
Street Date 2019-04-28
The Dramatics were originally formed in 1962 as The Dynamics but became later changed. They scored their first minor hit single All Because of You. (No.42 in the Billboard Charts). In 1968 The Dramatics were signed to Stax-Volt Records. The Dramatics later guested on the Snoop Doggy Dogg song Doggy Dogg World” which appeared on Snoop’s 1993 debut album Doggystyle. In 2002 The Dramatics appeared on Snoop Dogg’s sixth studio album Paid tha Cost to be tha Boss on the song Ballin’ produced by Battlecat. 10 ½ is a Dramatics album released in 1980 and has never been reissued on CD before. It contains strong soul based vocal tracks and wonderful harmonies but also the uptempo tunes are good and have breakout moments that sparkle beautifully. By the time 10 ½ came out the Dramatics were trying to hold on to their vocal group sound which can be heard on the title “Music Is The Peoples Choice” that actually starts off like the Baretta theme before going into a 80’s party song with a drum and percussion break in the middle. The rest sounds like Barry White in arrangement and “Love Is Here” even starts off with a deep baritone talk over. Ballads actually sparkle the best here like “Welcome Back Home” which was a Top 10 hit for The Dramatics. The best cut is “It Ain’t Rainin’ (On Nobody’s House But Mine)”. These kind of power ballads made the group famous. The production was done by Ron Banks (4 tracks) and L.J. Reynold (4 tracks) and the executive producer was Don Davis.
1. Music Is the People’s Choice
2. Welcome Back Home
3. Running’ from My Love
4. Love Is Here
5. I Just Wanna Dance the Night Away
6. If You Feel Like You Wanna Dance Dance
7. It Ain’t Rainin’ (On Nobody’s House but Mine)
8. Be with the One You Love